Minecraftedu: For at-risk students?

I was asked in my MSU graduate course, CEP813, to play Minecraft!  I knew from my son that Minecraft was popular but I had never really played.  This was an eye opening experience.  I felt like I was learning a new skill.  The difficulty I had was trying to figure out the controls on a MAC trackpad.  Googling was key to figuring out what I needed to do to adapt to this new game.

After watching what other teachers have done with Minecraft, I was so excited coming up with new ideas for my students.   A middle school used Minecraft as a pilot course.  What was found is that students increased attendance and engagement.  As a school counselor, I could see Minecraft being used in a small group for at-risk high school students.  One idea is to have the students create their future using Minecraft.  What will your life look like in 10 years?  Job, house, family, car, etc.  After they have completed their future world, next they would make connections to goals that need to be set to get to this future.  This activity would be similar to the “Magic Wand” idea…..if you didn’t have to worry about money or education, what would your future look like?  The small group would also be a support for grades and connection.

Here is my first video at exploring this new game. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dL6aYqRO07w&feature=youtu.be

Screen Shot 2014-10-20 at 11.19.36 AM

 

 

This screencast was done in JING.  I had problems sharing this file but you may be able to copy and paste this link-    file:///Users/martinlindberg/Desktop/Minecraftedu.swf

Screen Shot 2014-10-19 at 5.38.36 PM

 

 

One thought on “Minecraftedu: For at-risk students?

  1. Hey Christina, I love your initial thinking about Minecraft and its potential use in your area. I think that has a lot of scope for creativity and student engagement.
    Unfortunately your link to your screencast is on your local computer. You might want to put it on Google Drive or Dropbox and link to that address.

    Colin G.

    Like

Leave a Reply

