Digital Portfolio as a Sandbox for Growth

My professional growth through this blog has been extraordinary!  When I started this blog and the CEP 813 course in September, I would have rated myself at a novice level on assessments.  It is actually pretty embarrassing when I think back to the level I was at after 16 years in education.  I thought to myself…”How did I miss this in my college training?”  Maybe we used different terms?  Formative Assessment would be my “Check for Understanding” in the lesson plan.  Summative Assessment would be the end of the unit exam or the final exam.  Now the depth of my knowledge of how to use assessment in teaching is at proficient.

Screen Shot 2014-11-23 at 2.21.13 PMLooking back at my blog’s, I was learning the history and theories of assessment through Lorrie Shepard’s research but my “light bulb” moment came when we studied UbD.  Grant Wiggins and Jay McTighe (2005) wrote Understanding by Design.  This was the moment that assessment became clear to me.  When the light bulb occurred I wanted to shout it out and share it with everyone!  I wanted to make it a requirement for all new and old teachers!Screen Shot 2014-11-23 at 2.45.35 PMBy using this blog and Twitter, I am vulnerable to criticism and approval. Anyone can see my “sandbox” of growth.  What I have also learned is that by sharing my thoughts and knowledge it holds me more accountable.  I am more thoughtful of my writing when I share.  I have connected with my professional network and by sharing with each other we are learning.

Lastly, I have learned that using technology to create an assessment is only as strong as the assessment you create.  Assessments still need to be thoughtful in purpose and design.  Technology is a powerful tool that can get you to your ultimate goal.

Now, I am working towards expert but first I need to practice these new skills.  Just like anything else, “Practice makes Perfect”!

 

Leave a Reply

