Creating an Assessment in Haiku Learning: Take Two

Screen Shot 2014-11-09 at 3.01.44 PM

 

I created my first assessment in Haiku Learning a couple of weeks ago.  Here is the blog post, “Haiku Learning and Using Their Assessment”.  After receiving peer feedback, I was able to go back and update my assessment.  I first had created a multiple choice assessment because I was thinking of getting a quick snapshot of my online learners.  This data would then help me to drive the course.  I would be able to provide more teaching to areas that were deficient and not bore them with the proficient areas.

After updating my assessment, the goal was the same….the data from the assessment would drive the course.  What I was able to do is update my assessment to a short essay.  Instead of just getting either No, In Progress, or Yes, I would now be able to get that plus details about their answer.   This could also be an opportunity to become more familiar with the Haiku Learning platform since it would be their first assessment.

Another item I added to this assessment was a visual scale.  I love that you can add images to your assessment.  I would like to play around with this feature more as I get more familiar with Haiku.Screen Shot 2014-11-24 at 9.56.07 AM

I know that each time you give an assessment you can revise and improve it based on your students responses.  I would also like to use this at the end of the course to see how the students progressed.

Here is the revised assessment using short essay:

Leave a Reply

